Illinois Breaks Into 11 Regions From 4 To Monitor COVID

WBBM Newsradio Staff
July 15, 2020 - 3:00 pm
Illinois Downstate Map

iStock/Getty Images

CHICAGO (WBBM Newsradio) — Illinois Gov. JB Pritzker announced Wednesday that his administration is splitting the state into more regions as officials monitor COVID-19 metrics to prevent a resurgence.

Originally, there were four regions under the “Illinois Restore” reopening plan, and now there will be 11 regions, based on EMS resources, Pritzker said.

Listen Live Now on WBBM Newsradio

This will allow health authorities to undertake more targeted responses if an area experiences a surge in new cases.

The new approach is also expected to appease critics in the suburbs who have complained about being tied to populous Chicago and Cook County in one large Northeast Region. Now, Chicago is its own region, Number 11, and outlying Cook County is Number 10.

Lake and McHenry counties will comprise North Suburban region 9, and so on.

Related: Lightfoot Warns Chicago May Reverse Reopening

Pritzker’s announcement comes as Illinois has experienced a slight uptick in coronavirus cases after bending the curve. Officials say some people have gotten lax in social-distancing, wearing masks and washing their hands.

The Illinois Department of Public Health on Wednesday reported 1,187 new confirmed cases of novel coronavirus, including eight deaths. The state’s overall “positivity” rate has crept up to 3.1%, higher than the 2.5% of last week.

Illinois 11 Regions Covid MAP

Here is the breakdown of the 11 regions under the governor’s announcement:

1. NORTH: Boone, Carroll, DeKalb, Jo Daviess, Lee, Ogle, Stephenson, Whiteside, Winnebago

2. NORTH-CENTRAL: Bureau, Fulton, Grundy, Henderson, Henry, Kendall, Knox, La Salle, Livingston, Marshall, McDonough, McLean, Mercer, Peoria, Putnam, Rock Island, Stark, Tazewell, Warren, Woodford

3. WEST-CENTRAL: Adams, Brown, Calhoun, Cass, Christian, Greene, Hancock, Jersey, Logan, Macoupin, Mason, Mason, Menard, Montgomery, Morgan, Pike, Sangamon, Schuyler, Scott

4. METRO EAST: Bond, Clinton, Madison, Monroe, Randolph, St. Clair, Washington

5. SOUTHERN: Alexander, Edwards, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Marion, Massac, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Saline, Union, Wabash, Wayne, White, Williamson

6. EAST-CENTRAL: Champaign, Clark, Clay, Coles, Crawford, Cumberland, De Witt, Douglas, Edgar, Effingham, Fayette, Ford, Iroquois, Jasper, Lawrence, Macon, Moultrie, Piatt, Richland, Shelby, Vermillion

7. SOUTH SUBURBAN: Kankakee, Will

8. WEST SUBURBAN: DuPage, Kane

9. NORTH SUBURBAN: Lake, McHenry

10. SUBURBAN COOK: Suburban Cook

11. CHICAGO: City of Chicago