Aurora shooting

WBBM Newsradio

Aurora Shooting Victims Identified

February 16, 2019 - 11:28 am

AURORA (WBBM NEWSRADIO) -- Police have identified the five victims of the shooting at an Aurora manufacturing company Friday afternoon, an incident that has shocked the western suburbs.

Police said that the victims are Clayton Parks, of Elgin, a human resources manager; Trevor Wehner, of DeKalb, a human resources intern; Russell Beyer, of Yorkville,  a mold operator; Vicente Juarez, of Oswego, a stock room attendant; and Josh Pinkard, of Oswego, a plant manager. They were all employees of Henry Pratt Co. where the shooter also worked.

The gunman, Gary Martin, 45, also died at the scene. Five police officers and another employee also were wounded during the incident.

According to authorities, Martin, of the 1900 block of Selmarten Road in Aurora, came to work as an employee, but after a meeting in which he was terminated, he began shooting.

Police said that Martin has a history of six arrests with the Aurora police department, including arrests for traffic and domestic violence-related issues. In 2017, he was arrested by Oswego police for disorderly conduct and criminal damage to property.

He was issued an Illinois Firearms Owners Identification Card and three months later legally bought at .40 caliber Smith and Wesson handgun from an Aurora dealer. He later applied for a concealed carry permit, but it was denied after a background check showed he was convicted of a felony for aggravated assault in Mississippi in 1995.

This is breaking news. Check back for more.